Jani Lane: Heaven Isn’t Too Far Away

jani laneJani Lane, the ex-lead singer for Warrant, was found dead in a hotel room in Woodland Hills, CA on August 11, 2011. He was a rock god and a hero of mine all through Middle School and early High School, until Grunge came along and completely changed the musical landscape. He was a very talented singer/musician/frontman/power balladeer extraordinaire and one of the best songwriters in the pop-metal genre, and for that he will be missed. I had always held a little hope in my heart that Jani and the rest of the original Warrant band members would put out another record, but alas it was not meant to be.

Jani was the primary songwriter for Warrant, who went multi-platinum with their first two albums, Dirty Rotten Filthy Stinking Rich and Cherry Pie. They released other albums after that, of which Dog Eat Dog is probably my favorite, but they never reached the same level of success again. Warrant was a band that was unabashed about being entertainers; they wore matching leather outfits, choreographed synchronized headbanging and played guitar on the shoulders of other band members during performances. Yes, these things made them cheesy, but also incredibly entertaining to watch.

Another rock god from that era, Sebastian Bach, posted his thoughts on Jani Lane’s life and death. Truly beautiful sentiments for the tragic loss of a tortured soul.

warrant

Jani Lane

Here is a list of my favorite Warrant songs.

  1. Stronger Now
  2. Let It Rain
  3. Sometimes She Cries
  4. Heaven
  5. Down Boys
  6. Big Talk
  7. I Saw Red
  8. Andy Warhol Was Right
  9. April 2031
  10. So Damn Pretty (Should Be Against The Law)
  11. The Bitter Pill
  12. Ultraphobic
  13. Ride #2
  14. Hole In My Wall
  15. Inside Out
  16. All My Bridges Are Burning
  17. Uncle Tom’s Cabin
  18. Family Picnic
  19. Thin Disguise
  20. Vertigo

Here is the video for Warrant’s biggest hit, Heaven. Watch for a nostalgic trip down memory lane.

Comments
2 Responses to “Jani Lane: Heaven Isn’t Too Far Away”
  1. Jeong Chang says:

    The jaw lines. The high cheekbones. The leather. Truly, they were gods among men . . .

  2. Pris says:

    I was so in love with jani, I wished nothing but the best for him after I saw him on celebrity fit club. I had my wall covered in posters and warrant was the center piece When I watch heaven I fall in love with him all over again. And that was the time where my biggest problem was how was I gonna get to meet jani and marry him lol! Love warrant! Rest in Peace Jani. ❤

Leave a Reply

